2019 CAD programs

Its 2019 and I was just wondering what the status of Solidworks is? I am an Industrial Designer and have been using SW for 10+ years. Seems like SW is bringing out new formats with ID and XDesign but are they gaining traction? I have been thinking about trying something new like Fusion 360 or OnShape? But I dont want to waste my time with a software that the industry isnt going to use.

The just announced xShape, which just seems like their original Industrial Designer offering from a couple of years ago, but xShape runs exclusively on the browser

I’m not a ID but I would say out of the options you mentioned Fusion would be the most mature option

I’ll be publishing a post on solidsmack soon that breaks down the software products. As for solidworks though, it’s their second highest revenue producing product - it’s not going anywhere.

However, Dassault is bringing everything, including Solidworks, into the 3DExperience fold. It’s not surprising (we’ve been speculating how this would happen every year, with each announcement, since DS bought Solidworks) but they’ve not done a good job of communicating it.

I’ll have a graphic that illustrates this better, but DS is serving businesses across SMB/SME and Enterprise markets and they want to cover the options for both, which include Desktop options and Cloud options.

The Cloud options are part of the 3DEXPERIENCE platform. The 3DEXPERIENCE products have traditionally catered toward the Enterprise market.

The Desktop options are part of the 3DEXPERIENCE .WORKS platform. The 3DEXPERIENCE .WORKS products have traditionally catered toward the SMB/SME market.

These platforms are separate for now, but given time, the Desktop apps will gain more Cloud capabilities and the Cloud apps will gain more Desktop capabilities. They will eventually all be on the 3DEXPERIENCE platform.