CAD to learn for aerospace or mechanical

OK so I am trying to decide which cad system to persue most seriously. Currently I have access to solidworks, Creo, and fusion 360. I am a student so any company that gives out free student software I can get. Currently I am using mostly fusion 360 and some solidworks as well. I just got Creo a little while ago and haven’t had much time to mess around with it. I am planning to go into either mechanical or aerospace engineering. I am trying to move away from fusion because I know that it is not used much in the industry, but it’s hard because It’s really easy and intuitive. I can create the same things in fusion much faster than I can in solidworks and it makes solidworks feel sort of slow and clunky even though I know it is very powerful. Any input is appreciated.

Hey Simon. Great question. I was in the aerospace industry for quite a while. They software used there was primarily CATIA, SolidWorks, Inventor and AutoCAD. The most prevalent for the space I was in (VIP interior completions) was SolidWorks.

One way to gauge it is to look at the job postings of the companies you are interested in working with. Look for what software is listed in the position that most closely matches.

I think most importantly is that you remain flexible and willing to learn. Many companies will hire if you have the industry experience and ability to pick up the software and their process quickly (good to note on your resume, btw).

If you don’t have the experience yet, I would suggest finding some wherever you can. Instead of getting a part-time job at a restaurant, get on as an intern for a company or consultant in the industry. The are always looking for dependable people who can manage themselves.

There are really two questions here:

1. What CAD system should I use now?