Inventor 2015: Easiest way to handle 6 configurations?

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f195997bbb0>

So I’ve got to do drawings for my advisor using Inventor 2015. As is the case with any boss, they say X but sometimes want Y, so I want to know the easiest way to handle configurations and drawings. I have plenty of experience in the past, but considering I need to make manufacturing drawings I wanted to ask to see if there is a better way.

It’s model of a RHS frame with 2 different length options and 3 different attachments on the front. It’s a bit like a trailer with 3 different wheel and drawbar options for 6 options total so it will be done mostly in FRAME GENERATOR.

I would normally make 2 different length frames and 3 different other frames and make 1 assembly with 6 configurations and make individual drawings for all components and assemblies to minimise work.

Realistically, the description is a working generalisation and the problem becomes when my Advisor changes his mind and wants length option A to have a different width as well (making more then 6 combinations)… you start questioning whether you should have drawn 6 different CAD assemblies/models in the first place rather then use assembly configurations which get extremely messy quickly.

How does one handle this in modelling and drawing environments?

This sounds like a one sheet drawing.

Set up the views for one frame.
Add all the dimensions as usual.
Replace the dims with letter, e.g. change 14.25 to ‘A’.
Create a table on the sheet with corresponding dims for each letter.

Sometimes, if you have different measurements along one side, you can do something like, ‘A + 4.25’

I agree Joshmings, that works, particularly for the length change configurations.

The 3 options though in my experience usually are never as simple as the attachment on the front changing! The net result is you can’t consistently reuse a drawing of the higher level assembly with the options. Model configurations alone can get messy.