Which is the best mid range cad package

cad
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f5fd889c918>

I’m a metal stamping Tooling Engineer. I have worked in the last 10 years with catia, nx and solidworks.
Now I’m looking for a new cad package for my daily job. CATIA and NX are out of equation due to their price.

So I need a robust cad package, which includes nice surfacing, nice modeling features, nice user interface.

What I am thinking
-solidedge (I’ve already made some trials)
-solidworks (I’ve worked with it in past, but don’t have use it in surfacing)
-autodesk inventor (don’t know much)

Somebody have told me that there is an interesting cad package. Zw3d cad. For what I’ve see, it looks impressive, I haven’t made yet a trial. But it’s surfacing and general modeling capabilities, looks good. It’s price it’s amazing less than half of price of the others in equation. But if the price is so low compared to the others which handicaps has he?

Thanks you

My background is SolidWorksm but I just interviewed the CEO of Swissomation and he would slap me if I didn’t recommend Fusion 360 for anyone in machining. I would look at that or Onshape. For the CAM capabilities you’ll likely need, Fusion 360 has them integrated. What he like in particular is the CAM and the collaboration capabilities.

Hello, Thanks by your reply.

I’m not looking a software for CAM. I’m just looking for CAD. It has to be some interesting functionalities in surfacing (I use that a lot in my daily job). For what i’ve seen, Onshape doesn’t have grate capabilities in surfacing, Am I wrong?

And what about ZW 3D, anyone have already use it?

I have made some searchs and i am quite impressed.

Never seen ZW3D. What impresses you?

Onshape has zero surfacing at the moment. Hoping they add some soon.

I imagine it is probably next on their list since they have added sheetmetal already.